Diversifying your business as a freelancer

Lately, we had discussed on a couple of threads about the importance of diversification. Many freelancers are aware that they should expand their businesses, however, finding the starting point is a tough process.

For instance, I am offering myself as an example. Those of you that don’t know - I am a 21-year old freelancer -which happens to be a university student in his spare time. Taking this into consideration, it’s not hard to get an estimate on how much free time I have left - NONE.

In the past 6-7 months, a lot of ideas about expanding my business have crossed my mind. One of the ideas that I love the most is setting up an educational YouTube channel. Usually, something similar to Wendover Productions, Polymatter, Cheddar, CGP Gray and similar. Therefore, I need to master “After Effects” and combine it with my Photoshop and Illustrator skills and deliver mind-blowing content. However, the problem is I don’t know how to start, when to start, and how to plan the entire channel and its strategy.

Someone suggested drop shipping, as she was familiar with this business. Although, I don’t like this business venture at all. The first problem is PayPal can’t be used for receiving payments in this xxxked country.

I explored another way - which is reselling old vinyl, video games, and other collectibles. They can be found on the “gypsy” bazar for a fraction of the cost that they can be sold on eBay. It’s an interesting opportunity, but again, PayPal is what’s stopping me for venturing in this market.

Other people had suggested starting my own blog. Which is an interesting idea, but I lack the skills and the resources to do this at this moment. For god’s sake take a glance at my writing and style. There is a lot of place for improvement.

I have read Gary Vee, and to be honest, that guy is full of :poop: but on the other side, he speaks the truth.